What Is ITIL and How to Get ITIL Foundation Certification?

What Is ITIL and How to Get ITIL Foundation Certification?

Best practices for delivering IT services using a methodical approach to IT service management (ITSM) are provided by the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL). For a good reason, ITIL certification is at or near the top of practically every list of essential IT qualifications. As a framework for IT management, ITIL may assist organisations with risk management, improving customer relationships, establishing cost-effective procedures, and creating a stable IT environment that supports growth, scale, and change.  

You will have a solid understanding of the ITIL 4 framework, key ideas, and terminologies related to the ITIL 4 service lifecycle after completing this ITIL 4 Foundation Certification. By completing this ITIL certification, you’ll know how ITIL 4 changed to incorporate contemporary operational procedures, technological advancements, and critical ideas in a service management framework.

With two main designation paths and a total of seven modules for both certifications, the ITIL 4 certification scheme has been streamlined. As you advance from the Foundation level, you will choose between the Strategic Leader (SL) or Managing Professional (MP) paths. You can stop either way or if you decide to finish both, you’ll be qualified to receive the ITIL Master credential. Get ready for ITIL interviews with our ITIL Interview Questions and answers.

This blog will cover the following topics: 

  1. What is ITIL? 
  2. Understanding ITIL Foundation certification 
  3. Conclusion 

What is ITIL? 

It’s crucial to comprehend the structure and features of the ITIL IT service framework before reading on for certification information. The Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) of the U.K. government created ITIL in the 1980s as a collection of defined best practices for IT services used in government organisations. Since it’s first, narrowly focused implementation, ITIL has been embraced, updated, and expanded into a comprehensive framework for managing IT service delivery in businesses and organisations of all sizes, all fields of endeavour, and all market niches.  

There are five practice areas or stages in the ITIL service lifecycle, and each phase has guiding concepts, rules, and procedures: 

  1. Service Strategy – Services are defined as strategic assets at this phase, which also focuses on maintaining and putting a planned strategy into practice. Service strategy concepts ensure that the company is set up for service improvement by addressing business processes, corporate governance and compliance, policies, corporate culture, and decision-making.
  1. Service Design – The assessment of business management processes (service level, availability, capacity, etc.) is part of the service design phase, which aims to create new service offerings or enhance existing ones.
  1. Service Transition – This phase includes testing and quality control as it handles the change from development to production operations.
  1. Service Operation: Once a service is used in production, this phase outlines how to manage it. It addresses service operating procedures, including incident response, application lifecycle management, access management, event management, and help desk support.
  1. Continuous Service Improvement: Based on operational feedback and service levels, this phase of ITIL establishes new needs for the phases that came before it. Incorporating operational lessons learned into current and upcoming service improvements helps to ensure that policies and procedures are followed, service level agreements are satisfied, and operational lessons learned are considered. 

Understanding ITIL Foundation certification 

Whichever route you take, you must first pass the ITIL Foundation exam, a foundational credential that covers ITIL 4. Candidates for the ITIL 4 Foundation test should have a fundamental understanding of developing valuable products and services for customers and stakeholders, as well as a working knowledge of Lean, agile, and DevOps ideas and the four service management aspects.

A classroom will host the ITIL Foundation training for two and a half days. You’ll take a one-hour exam at the end of the course with 40 multiple-choice questions. To pass, you’ll need to select the 26 correct answers. The Axelos website lists the certified training organisations that provide the courses. Axelos or other third-party suppliers’ practice tests and other study materials are also available for self-study. 


We hope you understand ITIL and how to get an ITIL Foundation certificate. By raising your level of ITIL certification, you can benefit from the certification in numerous ways. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *